New player seeking some direction

Hi everyone, first post here so please be a bit patient with me. A bit of background: I started playing about 3 weeks ago, got completely addicted, then made the newbie mistake of getting too enamored by all the shiny legendaries they showcase in the epic summons. Before I realized what I was doing, I dumped $300+ into this game and have exactly ZERO 5* to show for all that. :sob::sob:

The small silver lining is I did get some decent 4* heroes, and looking at the ascension mats needed to get even a single 5* to 3/70, Iā€™m thinking maybe itā€™s a blessing I didnā€™t get any legendaries, so I can focus on building up a decent 4* team before playing the long game on 5*. (ok Iā€™m just trying to make myself feel better about my terribad luck, anyways).

In terms of progression, currently at SH12, and have 2x TC11 and 1x TC6. Progressed up to 1-15 just so I could unlock Atlantis. Have not done a single Atlantis stage due to WE requirement (waiting for Atlantis rising).

Before I go into any specifics, a few general questions first:

1. Can I at least beat the Dark Lord with a maxed 4* team? How about 3/60?
  2. Assuming I eventually get all the ascension mats required, how far would a maxed 4* team take me? While I do enjoy the PvP aspect, Iā€™m not terribly competitive, and would be content to have a solid footing in the gold league, maybe on the edge of platinum
  3. If by some miracle my luck changes in the next few months and I get a legendary, would it still be advisable to focus on building a maxed out 4* team before tackling the 5*?

Now for the specifics, so hereā€™s my roster of heroes (that matter) and my defense team:

Screenshot_20200205-214828_Empires