Why does everybody think elkanen sucks?

He looks pretty decent! 784 defense, fast mana, hits 3 and has some self heal. I know I’ve been annoyed by him in raids before. When I first started playing I read all the feedback about him and fed him away because I was a noob and I didn’t think twice about feeding off a 5* I don’t plan to level. Now I’m thinking he actually looks pretty good. He’s not alberich or lianna, but he looks pretty good!

I value a hero basing pretty much on the attack stat (must be 700+ to be at least “good”) or his/her special skill (must be something people fear to trigger, or on reverse, save your @ss if triggered).

He don’t have any of this.
I can totally let him fire 2 specials and win with all my heroes alive.

When you don’t fear to let alive a hero on the ground, thats a sign it is a bad hero.

4 Likes

There are a ton of amazing green 5*s and he is not one of them. He’s not terrible, but he just doesn’t come close to Zeline, Alberich, Tarlak, Lianna, Gregorian, Lady Locke, Yunan, and perhaps an upcoming hero.

3 Likes

I’ve got Elk maxed and have been raiding with him as a regular backup to my Alby. Yeah, the hitter is backing up the healer. Like you said Elk is not a bad 5*, but he isn’t good, he is OK at best. In terms of game design, units that are not remarkable or bring a novel skill to the table in some way get relegated to the bench.

Players have higher expectations from 5* heroes any other level just because they are rare, difficult to obtain and often comes from paying money. Psychologically, players are thinking that if a 5* is not one of the top of the line hero then they wasted their shot. Then they resent the lame 5* because they are still valuable enough to avoid being fed on a whim. The scarcity of the ascension materials required to max a 5* also hurt those heroes that don’t seem to be worthy of the mats.

1 Like