What’s with the new kiddie cartoon design aesthetic?

You had a very cohesive graphic design theme for your Empires and Puzzles heroes. Now there are a few anime-looking characters and a bunch of new cartoon pets. My guess is there’s a new head designer. Sorry, but it doesn’t work. This is a game for adults…it should look like one. Hope you will rethink your graphic direction.

10 Likes

I don’t really care about the art… But it was built in mid-evil strippers…

To be fair, the only one I noticed was that green bubble thing with a belly full of sweets.
Thought he looked funny for a three * hero.
And he / she has a very decent hit
I think it’s called something like Goopy….
All the others I don’t take much notice of.
There are way too many being released in the game. I can’t keep up with names or what the skills are etc etc
That said…. The hero mix is now much better than it was when I started playing and all you had was S1 lol

1 Like

To me, one of the unifying features of the artwork has been the sense of ‘something’s off, weird, or just unexpected’. Even Santa, throwing his gifts at you instead of gently giving them or worse Frosty who is just holding his gift tightly and definitely not sharing. Francine, with her classic ‘bride of Frankenstein’ hairdo offering to cut your hair so that it looks like hers? Natalya as the super-heroine who still can’t get her nail polish chipped.

But the artwork now is flat with nothing to ponder or look twice at. This is the quality that I think about when people complain. I would add that it just feels unimaginative. Ultimately, this is what I felt was so lacking in Celidana’s artwork. If they were going to go anime, did they have to do it same-old same-old? I wouldn’t mind the pet theme if they could have added something different and just a little more weird.

4 Likes