What keeps you playing once things become routine?

(for tl;dr people, the main question is at the very bottom)

Missions, raids, collect, upgrade, train, craft, Titans, events, troops, feed, ascend, level up, alliance wars, wash, rinse, repeat day after day after day.

I have been playing for 7-8 months, have maxed (or reached the highest necessary for me) of every building except a few farms, have grinded missions to death, have been fighting the same half-dozen titan types in over 200 battles, and have trained thousands of troops.

I have 15 unique 4* heroes–5 maxed, 6 that I am holding at 3^, the rest at varying levels–along with another 3 or 4 duplicates just hanging around, not to mention the many I have used to level up other heroes. My only 5* hero (in spite of many 300 gem purchases which every one of them has given me a 3* hero, all of the hero tokens, and running three lvl 20 training for a couple of months now) is not helpful enough to use over the 4* hero I use of that type. I also have four 4* troops of different types which are running 8 to 10 strength yet would be higher if food production was faster.

Basically, I have nearly reached my limit on how powerful my team is ever going to get unless I can get a few good 5* heroes of different types (meanwhile an alliance-mate of mine has 6 of them having played no longer than i have while spending no real money.)

There seems to be no reason to keep playing except that I am the leader of an alliance and alliance wars are now being tested.

Who else has hit this phase in their maxed out game play yet continues to play, and what do you do that keeps you active and interested?

I’m not yet maxed…and I love my alliance. Teaching the game actually has kept me interested for about a year. Beta testing added interest.

And there is the small matter of never having got an HOTM. Will do it!