Unable To Remove Hero From The War Team

I’m not sure if this in fact is a bug but it seemed the best place to put this post. When the alliance wars were first introduced I opted to battle for my alliance and picked a team to do battle. However, I wanted to remove a team hero from my war team but I can’t. It continues to say that hero is a member of the war team and isn’t selectable to remove. I actually wanted to feed that hero to another stronger hero. I even removed ALL heroes from all teams and still it says that hero is a member of the war team showing the hero dark (grayed out?) and can’t do anything with him. On the alliance war screen showing the opposing alliance (just before going to the battlefield) I did uncheck the box that opts me out from alliance battles. Still no go and the hero I want to remove is still a member of the war team. I’m new to E&P playing only about a month and still trying to figure out how everything works. Hope I’ve made my problem clear enough. I’ve tried everything to free up this hero from the war team but no luck.

Thanks in advance…

Are you referring to your defense team or attack team?
You cannot change your defense team during the war.
If this is about your attack team - you know you can only use each hero once? If you already used him in an attack, he will be greyed out and you will have to choose a different hero.
Another thing - I don’t know if it is a good idea to uncheck the box during the war - you might be put into spectator mode (can anybody confirm or refute this?) and then cannot continue to battle.

That would be interesting to find out, I don’t wanna try though as I don’t wanna let my alliance down.