The Diary of the FTP who finished 53rd in legendary

Hello everyone,

I’ve been playing the game for 2 years and 4 months as a complete FTP ($0 spent) and would like to share my experience with you. (There is a great thread here on 1 year FTP experience: Progress from One Year as a Free to Play (F2P) Player [MASTER]).
I was waiting to reach a certain milestone (e.g. level 70), but today I managed to finish 53rd in legendary of the Pirates Event and decided it’s a good moment for this post. I’d like to show you that it’s possible to be competitive on a high level without (over)spending.
Will FTP be able to make a run for top 10? No. The people who are there (@Uclapack, @Xero786, @kainboy) are experienced players who have better heroes, better troops, more items and more flasks. But top 100 is an achievable goal even for FTP.

***My biggest accomplishments***

Apart from finishing 53rd today, I finished 50th in legendary in Pirates last September. I’ve also been number 1 on the raid leaderboard.

Summary

***My Roster***

I have 50 maxed 4*/5* heroes:
Maxed 5*(16):
B: Isarnia, Miki, Richard
R: Azlar, Anzogh, Khagan, Marjana
G: Lianna, Kadilen, Margaret
P: Hel, Domitia, Sartana
Y: Vivica, Joon, Leonidas

Maxed 4*(34):
B: Kiril, Grimm, Triton, Sonya, Boril, Valeria, Agwe
R: Boldtusk, Wilbur, Scarlett, Colen, Gormek, Sumitomo
G: Kashhrek, Melendor, Little John, Jack O’Hare, Caedmon, Skittleskull
P: Sabina, Sabina, Rigard, Merlin, Proteus, Proteus, Tiburtus, Cyprian, Jabbar
Y: Wu Kong, Jackal, Jackal, Chao, Hu Tao, Li Xiu

Summary

***Struggles as FTP***

I got my first ever 5* hero from TC20 in March 2018 (9 months after I had started playing) and it was Elkanen…
It was another year until I got my first ever 5* in summons - Hel from a x10 pull in March 2019. It is still my happiest moment in the game. Afterwards, I got Anzogh, Margaret, Kadilen and Miki - these 5 are the only 5* heroes I have ever got from the summons gate.

Summary