Raids,, waste of time, no?

I’m a relative noob.

But the raids seem a Complete waste of time.

The opponents that I have to go up against are vastly superior to me by almost double my level.

Is this the same for others or am I doing something wrong?

There are lots of threads on the forum about raids - probably dozens. If you want to get a feel for players’ thoughts, search around.

I think that many people agree with you completely: they dislike the raiding system and find the whole process a waste of time. These people tend to field a poor defensive team so their trophies stay low and thus they can complete the daily raiding Wanted Mission as easily as possible.

Personally, I like the raiding system. To me, it is the essence of the game after one has completed the map (a mid-game achievement). I do not see why one would bother doing anything to get new heroes and ascension materials, except to make one’s team better for raiding. It seems a waste of time to improve your team just for the sake of improving it.

Mind you, we’re just playing a mobile game, so from a certain perspective the whole thing is a waste of time, right? Just do what is fun for you.

Threads around here also include quite a lot of discussion of the raid matchmaking process. I won’t try to summarise it here except to say that if you find you’re being matched against teams that you think are a lot better than you, then it probably means you are good at raiding. Read around if you want to know more.

There are four possible reasons to raid; not all need apply to you:

1. Complete Heroes Wanted missions. Kill 40 heroes in raids and collect a prize, sometimes a very nice prize.
  2. Scrounge resources. It’s possible to get 50k-200k each of food and iron from a set of raid flags, which can be really helpful (at least at lower levels)