Low level matchups?

I’m a fairly new player, level 11. I have one 3 star hero, Bane. Why, in raids, am I being matched against teams with a full roster of 4-stat heroes, 700+ points higher than me?

1 Like

Raid matches are based on cups and cups alone. How many cups do you have, and how many them?

1 Like

ATM I have 27 cups. Can’t win a match.

I remember going through that too. It is very discouraging. I think the system matches you up based on recent victories.

Say you won three in a row. Then, you will not be matched with someone near your level, but instead jump, say +300 cups. Pair that with people that cup drop, meaning, they lose cups on purpose to stay at a “comfortable level” to ensure as many smooth and easy victories as possible, there you have it.

The above is mere speculation on my part of course, it´s just based on the experience I have had while levelling up too (I recently started playing a few months ago)

What I do now is raid with the aim to fill my Hero Chest, just once a day. When doing so, I try to aim for two victories, then one defeat, even if I can win it. That seems to place me more on equal terms against teams, and now I usually get paired with those who have the same amount of cups or a few 100 higher than I do.

Keep at it. It will get better. Just think of the raiding aspect of the game as something, that isn´t ideal, but make the best of it. Best of luck to you. :slight_smile: :four_leaf_clover:

1 Like

indeed, it’s very frustrating at the beginning. I almost rage quit a few times in my first 3 months… hang in there. I found raiding more fun once I got stronger heroes and learned about things like color-stacking and choosing heroes that work well together.

In addition to what @Gwniver mentioned above, other things can affect cup level . some players have very strong heroes but don’t raid often, so their cups drop a bit more than players who use every single raid flag they get…

here’s an excellent resource on improving raiding: