Lost in 4* theories

Hey all - I’m officially lost when it comes to building my defense team. Can you give me some suggestions?

For reference, I have been going with the following:

Caedmon, Boril, Boldtusk, Boril (again), Tiburtus

How would you work with what I have??

1 Like

Based on the heroes you have leveled, I’d go with Caedmon, Boldtusk, Boril, Tiburtus, Gormek for now.

If all of your heroes were maxed, I’d go with Caedmon, Tiburtus, Kashhrek, Grimm, Kelile.

4 Likes

Kashrek over Boldtusk if everyone was maxed? I would have leaned toward BT myself. I was curious why you went that direction? I’m still learning myself and always like hearing different reasons and theories.

1 Like

Kashhrek is really the best 4* tank, thanks to his large elemental defense against fire.

That makes stacking red against him precarious, and his healing helps make up for damage from a neutral stack that a smarter attacker will use.

If he’s not killed promptly by a good board, he can be quite troublesome.

Suggesting Caedmon as left wing on that team is meant to goad attackers into stacking red, either based on the tank color, or seeing two greens. A smart attacker won’t, and will stack green or yellow instead, but typically at that level of play a lot of players will be tricked and play right into Kashhrek’s strength by bringing multiple reds.

And in terms of left vs. right, as the AI fires specials from left to right, it ensures Caedmon’s dispel will fire before other hitters if they happen to be ready on the same turn. That’s useful in case the attacker happens to have a defense buff or Perfect Riposte active.

Tiburtus and Grimm as wings will have good likelihood of firing while an attacker futzes with Kashhrek, and putting Tiburtus left and Grimm right ensures that if both are ready to fire on the same turn, there’s more chance of Grimm hitting an already-debuffed target with his heavier hit and finishing them off.