Little help on selecting a right composition please?

Hello there

i am quite new in the game (been playing for a couple of weeks, i am level 26 and didn’t spend money yet but i plan to do it, just waiting for interesting packs).

like a lot of people i guess i am struggling to find good heroes for the moment, i made a couple of teams/tests but i wanted to have your advice about my teams for each purpose(quests, defense etc.)

would you mind telling me what kind of composition you would choose with my hero list ?

atm, i am using either one of these two compositions depending on the situation in 90% of times (& changing for titans etc.) as this is the one with highest levels mainly (i have other 4* but not leveled yet)

main compo (no red, 2793 pts atm as i’m waiting for orbs to level chao/rigard)

sonya (4*)
chao (4*)
rigard (4*)
tyrum (3*)
belith (3*)

or this one (no green, 2782 pts, same)

sonya (4*)
chao (4*)
rigard (4*)
tyrum (3*)
azar (3*)

as other 4*, i have another Sonya (blue), and i just got my hands on Protée (dark), but not leveled yet.
this is unfortunately the only 4*'s i get.
i’ve got all these 3*'s :

bane x3
berden x2
friar tuck x2
carver
gunnar
kailani
azar x2
tyrum
belith x3
hawkmoon
renfeld x2
prisca
Gato (just got him)
nashgar (just got him)
ganju
bakthazar
graymane x2
karil
valen

and these 4’s as listed above :

sonya x2
chao
rigard
protée

now the question is : which composition would you choose if you were me ? for quests, raids & defense ?

also : is protée worth leveling ASAP ? or should i consider leveling some 3’s first such as Gato or Nashgar ?

bonus question : if i want to put a little money in the game, what would you recommend? which packs/what to do with gems ? wait for some events ? atlantis ? etc. thanks !

many thanks again
regards,