In Defense of Emblems

I see the emblem system taking a constant pounding from a lot of people on this forum. I’ve got a very different opinion on it than most:

It’s my favorite feature that’s been added to the game since I started playing.

Here’s my thoughts on a few under-appreciated things emblems have done:

+Added some variety to hero builds and strategies
+Gave late game players something to chase beyond trying to get that 45th 5* up to 4-80
+Added a way for the next rung down of players, those with only a few 5* and a lot of max 4* to be competitive in wars, titans and raids (even if they can’t afford to spend like crazy)
+Created a fun new feature for players just starting out to squeeze a little more life out of their Banes, Nashgars, and Valens

This system was introduced in a way that both F2P and whales could benefit, but perhaps benefits F2P players more–as you get more bang for your buck by spending emblems on 4*s early on, and there’s no way (yet) to buy tons of emblems.

For those frustrated that trial difficulty will increase:

True, but they’re also buffing a lot of our heroes. That means that the Borils of the world you may have never used, will also be tougher in the trials. It makes sense that the Trials would increase in difficulty, and frankly, I don’t think the last stage should be easy.

What’s wrong with having something to aspire to? Hope that frustration works to drive you to improve your teams and strategies.

Right now, they’re a tough a challenge for me, in a game that’s mostly devoid of tough quest based challenges outside of one weekend a month. I appreciate what the emblem system adds to the game, and I’m thankful for the cautious rollout they are using. I hope they will continue to make it so large quantities of emblems are NOT available in the store/offers, as I see this as one thing that could ruin this fine balance that they’ve struck.

(Edited for formatting)

12 Likes