I guess it's my turn to say goodbye

I’ve been playing this game 17 months, pretty much non-stop. Logging in every hour, using every flag, optimizing every hero levelling. I end with 8 L80s, 22 L70s and countless 60s. For the first 16 months I played in a friendly non-competitive alliance (thank you to my friends in Texas Titan Killers) and for the last month I played with 7DC (thanks for having me guys, it was amazing working with others that play as hard as I do).

It’s the people that have kept me playing. I was bored long ago with the repetitiveness of it. And while I appreciate that SGG has been adding to the game, it was like a science experiment where they’d offer a new treat, and if you reached for it, they’d electrocute you with more ways for them to make money from every new thing. It’s been sitting badly with me for a long time, but habit and OCD have been overriding those feelings.

I am a tech addict, for 40+ years I have been surrounded by tech non-stop … long before the internet was what it is today, at 9 years old I had access to DEC mainframes via acoustic coupler dial-up (for those of you not old enough to know who DEC is, Digital Equipment Corp was once the largest computer company on the planet with 200K employees globally) … then it was BBS systems like FIDO. Then came the beginning ofthe internet we know today. This game played into my addiction and I would find myself staying up later to use flags, waking up later, my wife and kids would talk to me and I’d be doing auto-map levels instead of giving them my full attention.

I did something I haven’t done in years. Saturday night I shut off my phone, shut down my desktop and didnt turn either on again until this morning. I looked at my empty chests and I realized that I was dreading filling them. I thought about how it’s the people I don’t want to lose, but that I have not gotten any joy out of this game in months.