How often do you use +def heroes?

I’ve been playing for about three months, now. As C2P, I don’t have a great number of 4* heroes available to me and I’ve had to rely on my 2* and 3* heroes for a lot. In pushing through Season 1 and Season 2 content, I discovered that I relied heavily on Mr Sassy Pants to keep my squad alive… and more recently I picked up Kailani who’s Spirit Link has seriously improved my titan hits by granting my piddly 3* heroes a much improved survivability. …she’ll definitely be my first hero to receive talents as a result.

So, with this established… I’ve noticed that Wilbur is the only hero who gives the same kind of +def buff as a 4* or 5* hero. Spirit Link just doesn’t exist outside of the 3* duo…

Khagan gives +def to 3 people, Magni gives +def to all, Kiril only gives +30%…

Viv gives it to everyone, but is also Slow mana.

Basically, once you move past Kailani and Gunnar, you don’t get any big defensive buffs outside of a very select handful of fairly rare heroes (Wilbur, Magni, Vivica).

1. How important is it to have a +def hero on your team?
  2. Do you consider their presence mandatory?
  3. Do you consider them mandatory for all game modes?

I’m just amazed at how much I relied on Olaf to keep my titan squads alive (3* heroes versus 8* titans), and now that I have Kailani, my hits have become even more powerful. They’ve made such a difference so far that I’m thinking that it may be worth keeping Kailani in the mix until I have a +def upgrade.

1 Like

I didn’t get Kailani for a long time, but did get Gunnar early on.

I made use of Gunnar on 7-8* titans for a long time. Now I use Wilbur.

I made use of Gunnar on hard PVE stages, quests, and challenge events. Now I use Wilbur and Proteus.

I rarely made use of Gunnar on Raids. I sometimes use Wilbur when raiding, but only when stacking red for a green tank, or sometimes for a yellow tank with a green flank. (Proteus, on the other hand, comes along on all of them.)