Help understanding odds or rng

Let me start by saying that I am not a gaming expert by any stretch of the imagination. However, I was pretty decent with statistics when I was in college but my tutor was Sir Isaac Newton so most of the credit goes to him.

my question is about the odds and rng or whatever system is used to determine what is drawn, specifically with regards to troops.

I decided to start working on a purple and red mana troop for my defense team. purple isn’t a problem nor is any other color except red. I currently have 150+ 1 and 2* troops for green, purple, blue and yellow. I have a total of 4, yes 4 red troops. 2 4* and 2 3*. I havent done any heavy leveling in a long time so I know I didn’t just feed them all.

how is this possible if the draws are purely random?

I also remember that getting a red 4* troop took forever.

in the most basic sense, if you were able to draw only a 4* troop based solely on the 5 colors in the game wouldnt the odds be 1:5?

thanks in advance

1 Like

RNG at it’s heart is TRULY random, so there will always be outliers to the average. In 1.5 years of play, I’ve found 7 4* red critical damage troops, and no purple mana ones.

Not getting 1 and 2 star troops of one color for such a long time seems crazy, but a roll of the dice can make it that way.

1 Like

Short answer, it is possible because it is purely random.
If it would be balanced, it would not be random.

As I said on other threads humans hate True Random. We can’t comprehend it.

True random means you can flip Heads 10 time’s in row (like I did yesterday) but we wouldn’t guess that because we don’t think it can happen.

So we have “Human Random” which is nothing like True Random. Human random is what we think random should be like and it’s very very very different to true random.