F2P players - how are you doing on 4* ascension mats? + my 10 months of play recount

Question: How many 4star ascension items are you getting nowadays? Do you see a drop compared to the last year?

I’m a sporadic spender, I bought two or three of the better offers when I started playing and a VIP pass after it came out. Nowadays I may buy the event 200 gem mini-offers.

I don’t buy ascension items. And I’ve realized that since January (5 months) I have received three 4* ascension items that didn’t come from the Rare Quest. Two Damascus Blades and one Telescope.

• I haven’t seen any in Elemental Chests.
  • I haven’t seen any from the titans aside of 1 blade (and we’ve been killing 10* titans for a while, now with 11* in the mix).
  • I have seen one item from a monster chest (the Telescope).
  • And Mystic Vision provided me with the other Damascus Blade.
  • Certainly haven’t seen any from AW lol. We won majority of them.

It just seems to like the item flow became stupidly slim ever since the “Winter Calendar” and the following trend of more and more paid offers where you get 4* ascension mats. They used to be what “guarded” the p2w vs f2p balance, but with that tactic that’s no longer a valid point.

Just look how common is the 9000 gems offer now! And I’ve no doubt Summer Calendar is on the way.

Getting one of each ascension material only through the Rare Quest is possible every what? 2 months? Which means it would literally take one year of playing for a F2P player to ascend ONE 5* hero of a given color.

Wonder how many sporadic spenders will be buying gems to roll for heroes they cannot ascend unless they pay even more for offers? (which small spenders won’t likely do).

Maybe it’s just my luck of the draw - that’s why I’m asking - but it seems like a really crappy trend from where I’m sitting.

Without f2p players/sporadic spenders this game will die, and when they feel no progress they will leave.