Costume leveling seems to go against stated rules

Thanks. I read it somewhere but don’t remember where. Think it may have been @zephyr1 that gave the information.

Trying to read a lot and keep my flags down to be a regular

#lifegoals :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

2 Likes

Yeah, I’m pretty sure it was covered in the beta beat, but I don’t expect most forum goers to be up on that. The problem is the main post Introducing Hero Costumes! has the level wording instead of ascension, so even though we know it’s working as expected, it’s not working as documented. I’m guessing that being in customer service, you deal with that scenario often :wink:

4 Likes

You have no idea. Just about everyday.

3D printers and CNC machines haha…lil bundles of joy

2 Likes

I edited the announcement post, thanks for the heads up!

2 Likes

It actually answers most of your questions.
.

The costume can be levelled beyond the base hero but not beyond it’s ascension point. This is covered in the FAQs.
.
.

You have to level each costume individually… Again, covered in the FAQs
.
.

Again, you have to level each costumed hero individually… Leveled costumes are hero card specific and are not transferable. Again, answered in the FAQs.
.
.

Finally, again, costumes are hero card specific. non transferable. each one MUST be levelled individually…

I also have a question about the costume, I have a fully maxed Melendor and I have three all together, two have costumes and have one at 1-40 but it will not let me ascend him. What is wrong? I have a maxed one which is what I thought you had to have in order to make the costume work, or does it have to be on the maxed one in order to work?

1 Like

Costume ascension is based on the hero that is equipping it.

Assuming you have 2 Melendors (1 maxed and another at tier 2):

  • Maxed Melendor allows you to max the costume at tier 4
  • Tier 2 Melendor only allows the costume to be the same and that is tier 2 (2/50 maxed)
1 Like

Two things going on:

  1. Each costume must be levelled individually. Levelled costumes are NOT transferrable
  2. Each costume CANNOT be ascended beyond the point of the base hero… If the base hero is 1/1, the costume can’t go to ascension 2 until the base hero is at ascension 2.

In order to max the costume, your base hero has to be at the max ascension. In the example of your Melendor, the BASE Melendor that the SPECIFIC costume is on must be at least 4/1 for the costume to go to 4/70.

Its written above but there is a FAQ’s thread about costumes:

Also a thread about levelling costumes:

And finally a “Common Mistakes” thread about costumes:

2 Likes

I think I have found a costume bug. I have levelled up Sonya Viking costume to level 40 but I have her skills still on level 1 of 8. Ascend won’t work as the message is that it won’t ascend as it needs to be level 2. However I can’t work on that as Level is now greyed out

1 Like

Hiya @Winbod

Not a bug. There are a number of threads about this including a major one with FAQs about costumes and Levelling Costumes.

Most recent one that I answers this very question is here:

1 Like

Hi Guvnor

I have read the FAQs again and I still don’t think it is right. If when hero ascension needs to be 2 before I can ascend in that costume they the Level Up option should not be greyed out. I can they continue to level up until it goes up to level 2

Can you share a screenshot of what you mean? @Winbod

1 Like

This is the message when trying to ascend

But I can’t level up

Ok I think I get what you’re saying!

So the costumes work like normal where the ONLY time you can continue feeding (to raise the special skill) is when the hero is maxed out. Until then, when it gets to the max level at that ascention, you can not feed it any more until you ascend it.

In the case of your Sonya it’s like I said above. You can’t ascend the costume until you ascend the base hero first. Then you can continue.

1 Like

You have to ascend her non-costume version first, then you will be able to ascend costumed one.

Thanks for confirming that. It is in the FAQ as “Note again that the base hero must be fully ascended first, costing the usual amount.” But that should be clearer

Am slightly disappointed with this as this will take a lot of effort to have to ascend the base hero to get the costume ascension while not getting enough of a significant costume bonus. Does it really justify the expense?

1 Like

mmm in the future, that’s why it’s suggested you only use costumes for heroes that are already fully leveled (and not duplicates or unleveled heros for example)

A lot of people here would agree that it does justify the expense, especially for a hero like Sonya.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

Cookie Settings