Attack and damage % - can someone explain this to me?

Hi. I’m trying to understand how these two stats work.

Let’s take for example Marjana and Joon. Both are single target, both are fast on mana regen.

Marjana’s attack is 669, Joon has 749. Her attack deals 458% + 282 in DoT. His does 467% and debuffs accuracy.

Am I right thinking that, theoretical enemy defense being 0, Marjana would deal 3346 damage (3064+282) and Joon would deal 3497?

In that case, does this mean Joon is simply a stronger attacking hero while Marjana is harder to kill? I’m not too keen on trusting my math because a) I’m not good at math and b) he looks like much more of a tough guy compared to her in her cloth tunic :stuck_out_tongue:

@mhalttu @Petri

This may be giving away more than you care to. But is this something the devs can explain? It may help settle quite a few arguments about different heroes, having a higher % attack in your special versus a higher attack stat, how defense comes into play, etc.

I don’t think giving this away would hurt anyone. It might satisfy some nerds who are into charts like yours truly though (:

1 Like

I don’t know how the damage formula works, but you are right. Joon hits harder but is easier to kill. Marjana does leave a dot which makes her total damage slightly higher in total, unless dispelled. Especially on high defense targets, as the initial damage is lowered by defense stat, but the dot is not. But Joon’s blind compensates for this.

1 Like

I dug up this old post on the forum. It was originally about buff stacking. But it also shows how the attack bonuses are applied. :grinning:

1 Like