At what level did 3* ascension materials start to flow?

Hello everyone,

Ive played a lot of Empires and Puzzles over the pandemic. I started playing last year in March or April. I have to say it really has been nice having an engaging game to get lost in during this time, so kudos to Small Giant. Over the last couple months or so, Ive hit a bottleneck that’s been irking me. Ive leveled about 16 4* heroes to 3.60 and have been waiting for compasses to drop. Recently we had Farholme Pass, so I was able to get one. But tbh, its getting boring leveling heroes to 3.60 for war just to have to hold them there while waiting for compasses.

Ive been trying to wrap my head around where I am in the process and what if() block in the games code I havent triggered to true yet. The most common advice Ive received on the topic to date is:

1. Join an alliance that defeats 8*+ Titans regularly

2. The game is full of bottlenecks that have no rhyme or reason, it is what it is.

As for 1, a several weeks ago I did leave the alliance I was in searching for one that took on 8* titans or better. The search took about a week, but I found one that would take me at lvl 33 with cups at Gold Arena levels. I’ve been getting more 3* ams in the titan/war loots and titan chests, but no compasses yet.

As for 2, its a freemium game and I understand that its going to be designed to incentivize players to spend money. I mean, capitalism, right? However, the members of my alliance have been pretty vocal about the loot they receive from titans and war. And it seems the higher level players get compasses more frequently.
When talking to them about it they are understanding and talk about patience, youll get there, etc. And I believe them. So this all is the context that brings me here to ask the greater community a few questions.

Do you remember at what level you started seeing more 3* ams in your loot, chests, mystic visions?