An open discussion regarding game balance

I would like to request some sort of Q&A with developers regarding what factors are being analyzed to determine the need for balance changes, because I myself am having a very difficult time understanding it.

As a developer myself, post market (live) changes are generally viewed as a last resort, only if program integrity is at a risk of being compromised. Now, I also understand that the mobile app game pay to play model will be different from licensed software, which is why I would like this discussion, so that we can reconcile what I feel is not so much apples and oranges, but apples and lawnmowers.

Recently, developers released a list of the 5 strongest performing heroes on offense and defense. Absent from that list?
Telluria
Bottom of the list on defense: vela

Top of those lists? Costumes and event heroes.

From my perspective as a player, I see a few things that may contribute to this.
Heroes like jabberwock, finley, costume magni, rabbit, and killhare are event or seasonal heroes which have a far lower saturation rate. Which also means the players that have them will tend to be heavier spenders. And will therefore have better troops, on average.

That aside. Is there anyone who has a hero like say, Finley who does not use this hero on defense? He is so strong on defense that most of the top alliances will use a second blue hero on defense just to get him in there. Personally I have him too. But is this not a clear example of actual Imbalance? Is there any tank color (even blue), under which he would not be placed on defense? Same question for jabberwock or killhare. If the meta shifts to yellow or purple tanks, would vela in her previous inception be on everyone’s defense? Personally I feel the answer is a resounding no. But heroes like gravemaker. Finley, killhare, jabberwock will be in virtually every setup to anyone who has these heroes.