An Announcement on Pronouncement - pronouncing hero names

Inspired by the hilarious nickname thread

Nicknames for Heroes

I wanted to discuss how we pronounce heroes names. Here’s what I default too, but am I wrong??

Horghall - horr-all or horg all?
Aife - Ay fee
Chao - chow
Marjana - marry Anna
Caedmon - kide mon
Dawa - Dow A
Brienne - Bree en
Khagan - Kay gan
Valen - vay len or var Len
Cyprian - sip ree an
Kailani - Kay lar nee
Ishtaak - ish tark
Zudak - zoo dak
Hu Tao - hyoo t ow
Jahangir - jang geer
Domitia - Dom eesha

4 Likes

My thoughts, being a communications major, English Minor.

If it seems I agree on some, that’s okay right? :slight_smile:

1. Hor-Gall
  2. Eye-Feh
  3. Chao OR Kay-Oh (as in Chaos, purely depending on nationality)
  4. Dah-wah
  5. Brenn
  6. Kay-ghen
  7. Vah-Len
  8. Sip-Rhee-an
  9. Kai-Lah-Ni
  10. Ish-tack
  11. Zoo-Dack
  12. Hyu T-ow (as in towel, without the el)
  13. Jay-han-gear
  14. Dom-ee-Cha

Of course, I am not an expert… and english lettering doesn’t always convey cultural intentions…

4 Likes

Caedmon = Kaide
Marjana = mar johnuh
Horghall = horg hall

2 Likes

I’m increasingly convinced horghall is Horr-all

I think the g is silent a bit like thought

Don’t take my G away from me, man…

cuz it is one slippery (ahem) slope once you do that.

1 Like

Yeah I have always called him Kayed-mon.

This is even though I know Caesar is pronounced Kai-zer (aka Kaiser)

1 Like

Just how i read it so stuck with it. Horrible at grammar stuff btw. So i just tried to make the pronunciations clear as best i could.

Can’t help with the others, but if Aife is an Irish name, it’s pronounced ay-fuh (as in ‘A fer’ apple).

3 Likes

The “gh” in Horghall is a sound that doesn’t really in English so it’s hard to describe in terms of English. The “g” is still there but it’s not as hard a g as in “gall”. It’s farther back in the mouth, somewhere between a hard “g” and a cough.