After a year of Empires & Puzzles

I started playing E&P one year ago today (actually, yesterday, as this post took longer than expected to write), so I thought I’d take the opportunity to do an inventory of sorts and see where I am. Perhaps it will be of interest to others to see how they compare or see where they might be after a year of play. It got a bit long, so I’ve hidden it in sections below. Feel free to skim or skip altogether. :grinning:

Context

How much do I play? It has varied a fair bit. The first few weeks, somewhat erratically until I ditched my zombie alliance and found a real home. The next six months, heavily (but not obsessively) using almost all world energy. Then I “quit” the game for a short time (I was still doing trials and rare quests, but that’s about all). After working out a better balance, I now lose a few hours of world energy a day and usually do one monster chest and one hero chest each day.

How much do I spend? I am sure SG has us all neatly categorized in terms of spending. I’d be in the second group, just above the hardcore F2P crowd. I bought a $25 Google Play gift card when I knew I was going to be playing a while and had found a great alliance, but the game was beginning to bog down in that gap between maxing your first 3* rainbow and getting TC20 up and running. I used it on a few months of VIP and some cheap deals. It was enough to get a pair of TC20s running and build my first 4* rainbow. They failed to convert me into a regular cheap spender though (group three, I assume) and I’ve been happily F2P since Christmas.

So if you are totally F2P you might lag a month or two behind. If you spend a bit more regularly, a month or two ahead. If you spend a lot then this won’t resemble your experience at all!

Heroes

Classic
4*: I have 21 of the 22 four star heroes. Still missing Hu Tao.