A different kind of "Not gonna spend" thread

No, this is not a rage quit or a gripe about summoning odds or gacha.

I was browsing through some old threads on the forum the other day, and found an old post by @KLinMayhem regarding stopping spending on the game, and why he had decided to switch from spending a lot to going VC2P. It started me wondering. I took a look at the total I’ve spent in this game since I started playing 2 and a half years ago, and thought about what I’ve gotten out of it. The results kind of took me by surprise.

While I don’t have an addictive personality, I’ve spent enough on E&P in 29+ months to have bought a good used car. The majority of my entertainment budget has gone to Google Play.

Those spending habits have gotten me a roster full of heroes that it will take me another 29+ months to level. I have all of the TC20 4* and 5*, and all the 3* I want. I have all the Atlantis 3* and 4*, and most of the 5*. I have more than 2/3 of the event heroes and I’m only missing 1 HotM since I started spending (Miki). I can comfortably complete any content the game has to offer, I generally get 4-6 one shot kills against 4200+ teams in war, I sit in diamond arena for raids, I routinely climb into the top 100 while attacking, and have hit #1 global on multiple occasions.

Then I started looking at what has kept me playing E&P when there are so many other games out there clamoring for attention (and $$$). I asked myself why I keep coming back. The answers all came down to two things: the mental challenges involved in the game (team selection, board manipulation, etc) and even more, the people I’ve “met” through the game, in my alliance and on the forum. That is where the real value is found, at least for me.

Armed with these realizations, 2 things have become obvious to me:

1. I don’t need to keep spending to keep enjoying the game, the company of my alliance mates, and the forum.